Well Read

The title of this post is a play on words…you see, currently I am far from well read. I’m embarrassed to admit that I have not picked up a book for pleasure since we moved to Raleigh. Which means, other than kid lit (not to be confused with children’s literature-which I have read my fair share of-kid lit refers to the books parents immerse themselves in with their first child), I have done barely any reading at all-unless you count flipping through a magazine here and there, or skimming various blog posts a few times a week. Oh-I also read Yahoo headlines almost everyday.

So, the title of this post is not a description. It’s a suggestion. Or a command maybe. I need to read more. I want to read more. I love to read, so amid my recent complaining about this, my husband said, “Well, read!”. How simple, right? I hope so. But just in case something (or everything) gets in the way, I made a plan. Yes, I scheduled my reading time. Each day I have set aside a chunk of time for my book and me to get better acquainted. And I have to say, I’m quite excited.

My youngest sister recently read a book for her first college class and then passed it along to me. I am not sure it’s one I would have selected myself (not even sure if she would have picked it out-it was required reading and the author is an alum of her school), but I have a copy now, which made it a strong contender. Also, I figure she might want to discuss the novel, so that’s motivation for me to prioritize reading.

The Starboard Sea by

The Starboard Sea by Amber Dermont

Once I finish The Starboard Sea, I plan to read:

TheSignatureofAllThings

The Signature of All Things by Elizabeth Gilbert

ROOM

Room by Emma Donoghue

WeAreWater

We Are Water by Wally Lamb

Given my recent history, I am guessing that will be it for 2013, sadly. But I hope to begin the new year with a book in hand and not let a month (or four) pass without finishing something I am reading just because.

Have you ever fallen into a reading rut? Any suggestions to get my 2014 started strong and keep me reading?

4 thoughts on “Well Read

  1. you knew i’d have an opinion! 🙂 i loved WHERE’D YOU GO, BERNADETTE – quick read but also really fresh and great writing! also FAN GIRL, SEATING ARRANGEMENTS, THE INTERESTINGS, and CRAZY RICH ASIANS. definitely get a copy of HYPERBOLE AND A HALF – it’s not a novel but you’ll love! xo

  2. Always love a good book. My recent faves are: light between oceans, the Rosie project and currently obsessed with once we were brothers. I have yet to read happiest toddler although I need to!! Xo

  3. I read “The Fault in Our Stars” recently and loved it – even managed to finish it in 3 days with 3 kids! It’s young adult fiction but I’m a sucker for easy reads like that, regardless of the target audience. 🙂

  4. Sometimes, I re-read books I love! I know that I don’t have to keep track of the plot (because I already know it) and I enjoy a wonderful story for the second time 🙂 I think I’ve read The Magic of Ordinary Days and Catcher in the Rye 3 or 4 times just because. Also, I love reading books I read as a child again (like ANY Roald Dahl book or Maniac Magee)!!

Leave a Reply

