Foodie Friday: Love for Seasonal Beers

Each year fall brings so much to love. As a southerner, I have spent most of my life eagerly awaiting the arrival of autumn, mainly  seeking relief from the blazing summer temperatures. Now that I live in New York, where the season is in full swing by this time of year, around now I’m enjoying cooler temperatures with pumpkin anything, especially including beer.

Last year I wasn’t able to get my seasonal booze fix because I was pregnant, so this year when I started getting excited about the release of these brews, I realized I didn’t really remember which ones I like most. Clearly there was only one thing to do…try them all to determine my favorites, of course!

So, for the past couple months, I have picked out two singles each Saturday to taste over the weekend. And it turns out, I pretty much like ’em all. However, many are on the heavier side and may not be for every palette. They are definitely meant to be sipped and savored. Personally, that’s how I prefer to drink and could become quite a beer drinker if these seasonals were available year round.

Here are the ales I’ve enjoyed so far this fall:

As I mentioned, all ten of these get my seal of approval. But there were some obvious winners among those I tried.

My top picks (so far) are:

1. “Punk” Dogfish Head Punkin Ale-The most fragrant of the bunch, this beer is rich with immediately detectable notes of cinnamon and pumpkin spice.

2. Shock Top Pumpkin Wheat-This lighter choice is more crisp than its competitors. As a lover of Belgian style brews, I immediately liked this one, though the seasonal ingredients were on the mild side.

3. Samuel Adams Harvest Pumpkin Ale-I found this beer to be well-balanced and extremely drinkable. The pumpkin flavor is obvious, but not overwhelming, with a spicy, yet smooth finish.

Are you taking advantage of all the delicious beers that are available this time of year? What’s your favorite fall adult beverage?

3 thoughts on “Foodie Friday: Love for Seasonal Beers

  1. I think I have said this to you before but I think you should be a food critic! You have such a lovely way of describing foods and drinks 🙂 Love ya cuz!

  2. Pingback: Fall Favorites | Must-Have Love

Leave a Reply

