What I’m Loving Now…Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Heard of it? Of course you have. Read it? You should. I just finished and I gotta say, it’s a worthy novel choice if you enjoy twisted, psychological thrillers. Gone Girl is three parts with each chapter alternating between the perspective of the two main characters, a husband and wife whose rocky marriage has left both dissatisfied. When seemingly flawless Amy goes missing, her disengaged spouse, Nick, is the primary suspect following the common, “It’s always the husband” assumption. Of course, it’s more complicated than that and the plot jolts at the beginning of Part II.

The intriguing story is captivating from chapter one, building curiosity almost instantly. I easily predicted some turns of the plot, wheels spinning vigorously page after page. But others left me stunned, mouth agape, unable to detect what direction the book would take next. While originality fills each chapter, Gillian Flynn’s beautifully melodic writing is most attractive-vocabulary making me dizzy with delight; each sentence, every paragraph, gripping my attention throughout the novel.

Obviously, I highly recommend Gone Girl, as I think any reader will be an automatic fan. I only wish I could have finished faster. It was so enthralling that following a break, reabsorbing myself was a struggle. I found myself getting almost impatient, eager for some sort of resolution. Therefore, when beginning the book, be prepared to read straight through. I honestly think doing so will make it even more riveting.

Have you read Gone Girl? What did you think?

4 thoughts on “What I’m Loving Now…Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

  1. Sounds intriguing. Will have to check it out! Always looking for a good book, and I love books you physically can’t stop reading 🙂

  2. Agree! As a frequent traveler I MUST have a book to read at all times. In fact I normally only read on planes, because I don’t want to run out of good books too quickly. But this one I had to finish while at home on the weekend, because I couldn’t wait to get to the ending! ‘Bout wore out the poor page button on my Kindle. 🙂

    • What did you think about how everything turned out?? Don’t want to ruin anything for others, but I didn’t anticipate the ending. Afterwards though, I thought it was an interesting take and true to the characters…

Leave a Reply

