Foodie Friday: Spicy Homemade Pimento Cheese

As a southerner, loving pimento cheese should be a given. So it may be surprising that I have always hated the stuff. Well, that’s what I thought. Although I will claim pretty much any cheese as my favorite food, a jar of orange spread with red specks is not included. My distaste for pimento cheese is mostly textural, as I’m not a fan of mayonnaise or anything with that sort of slimy, slick consistency. Then I tried the locally famous homemade pimento cheese at DiPrato’s in my hometown and everything changed. The thick, creamy dip is amazingly delicious with a sharp, cheesy flavor. It’s always an indulgence when I’m home, so when a craving recently hit with over two months until I can visit the deli, I decided there was only one way to satisfy my taste. Yep, I tried to make it myself.

After a bit of research and some careful recollection, I combined a few recipes and came up with this spicy version of the southern favorite. I’m not sure I would confidently serve this up to Diane herself, but my lightened up take on the dip is definitely good enough to hold me over until my next visit to Columbia-and definitely worth trying, even if you’re from somewhere north of the Mason Dixon Line.

Six Simple Ingredients, plus salt & pepper to taste

Spicy Pimento Cheese

Ingredients

  • 2 cups of sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 2 Tbsp pimentos, diced
  • 1 jalapeno, finely chopped and seeds removed
  • 1/4 cup low-fat mayonnaise
  • 1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Mix mayonnaise and yogurt. Add pimentos, jalapeno, and garlic powder and stir until combined. Pour cheese into mixture and stir until all ingredients are well combined. Season with salt and pepper to your liking.

Enjoy with pita chips, crackers, celery, or pretty much anything else you can scoop it onto.

One way to serve…looks good!

Another option…Mmmm-even better!

3 thoughts on “Foodie Friday: Spicy Homemade Pimento Cheese

  1. Wow, I had forgotten about DiPrato’s. Mmmmm, so freakin’ good…I think that was the first place where you realized my soup obsession, it would be 105 out and I’d be asking what soups they had.

    Seeing as I’m really not a fan of mayo at all, do you think this could be made using just yogurt? Or maybe using something like sour cream? I realize it would probably screw up the texture, but I’m thinking of alternatives.

    • Cream cheese! A very rich and decadent, but oh-so-delicious alternative that doesn’t change the texture. 🙂 Just yogurt or half sour cream is too tangy…if you try this version, let me know how it turns out.

  2. My dad LOVES olive and pimento cheese spread. But they stopped making the spread he likes. Maybe mom or I could make this and add some olives? Hmmmmm> Thanks for the recipe cuz! 🙂

Leave a Reply

