What I’m Loving Now (for Foodie Friday): Summer Snack Favorites

I’m a snacker, especially in the summer. Maybe it’s the heat making me eat less, more often. Or perhaps staying busy by being out and about just makes it easier to grab a little something here and there. I can’t say for sure, but I definitely find myself snacking throughout the day. When choosing in between meal options, I try to be pretty healthy (still trying to lose baby weight and all…), so I like to keep foods on hand that I can enjoy without feeling bad later. That involves a lot of fruit (luckily I love what’s in season now), carrots and hummus, prepackaged nuts, and crackers with peanut butter. But having a few, more convenient, choices on hand is always helpful. And recently I have found some perfect new snacks that I am loving:

Nature Valley Protein Bars

These Nature Valley Protein Bars have 10 grams of protein, 5 grams of fiber and only 6 grams of sugar in each bar, for less than 200 calories. Not only do they keep you full longer, but they are also delicious. And I love that the first two ingredients are peanuts and almonds.

Snack Factory Pretzel Crisps
in Buffalo Wing Flavor

These pretzel chips are addictive! Good thing they are only around 100 calories and no fat a serving. The Buffalo Wing are my favorite so far, but I haven’t tired the Jalapeno Jack or Chipotle Cheddar yet-I have a feeling one of those will come out on top once I do though. If you are craving a salty, crunchy snack, you will not be disappointed with Snack Factory’s Pretzel Crisps.

Adonia Greek Frozen Yogurt Bars
in Wild Blueberry

I haven’t met a Ciao Bella product I don’t love. Their gelato and ice cream sandwiches are to die for. However, they are definitely an occasional treat. So I was super excited to try these Greek frozen yogurt bars, and they did not disappoint-especially after seeing that they have 75 calories per bar with 5 grams of protein and no fat. The bars are creamy and perfectly fruity. Yum! A winning summer snack or even dessert.

Stacy’s Everything Bagel Chips

I know-another kind of chip? Yes. Pretzel chips and bagel chips are very different. Therefore, both can be on the list. Obviously. Plus, both are way better for you (and tasting) than most potato chips. When I saw Stacy’s Bagel Chips, I immediately snagged a bag. They are really good. A little too good. And hearty enough to handle just about anything you might want to dip them into. This snack is a bit more of a splurge at 130 calories a serving, but they are all natural, which is always a good thing.

Half n’ Half Diet Snapple

Okay, so this isn’t technically a snack. But I always hear that sometimes when you feel hungry, you’re actually just thirsty. And if that’s the case, this is the best cure (yeah, yeah, aside from water of course…). My sister-in-law introduced me to this stuff at the beach last month and I have been guzzling one everyday treating myself to one once in a while since then. Half n’ Half Diet Snapple is a refreshing balance of tea and lemonade, not too sweet, and only ten (very worth it) calories per serving. If you haven’t tried it, you must-snack time or not.

Those are my newest favorites to munch on when hunger strikes. What snacks are you loving now?

One thought on “What I’m Loving Now (for Foodie Friday): Summer Snack Favorites

  1. The protein bars look yummy – I have to check them out! I’ve been tempted to try the Greek yogurt bars, but I really don’t like Greek yogurt – do they taste similar or will I like them?

    And my favorite iced teas are the Honest Tea ones – lightly sweetened, but not diet (blech to fake sugar tasting things :). So good when I want something different and just a little sweeter than my typical drink of water.

Leave a Reply

