Key Lime Pie Pops

I’m one of those people who has to have dessert after dinner. I just prefer to end my last meal of the day with a sweet treat. Who doesn’t? Because I’m still in the losing the baby weight phase of postpartum life, I typically have a fruit bar, sugar-free pudding, or a piece of two of dark chocolate. Just a little something-it’s clearly a mostly mental habit. So every Sunday before we go grocery shopping for the week, I decide on my dessert choice for the next five days. And every Sunday when I ask my husband what I should get he replies, “Make a key lime pie”. He is of course joking. Sort of. He does love some key lime pie. But that is too indulgent for a lady on Weight Watchers-and probably not great for anyone to consume daily for an entire week. Needless to say, no key lime pie for us. Until this week when I discovered Daphne Oz’s Key Lime Pie Pops.

Daphne Oz’s pops from “The Chew”

I wasn’t sure how these yogurt pops would come together after freezing, especially with so much acid from the lime juice. But they did not disappoint. In fact, they far exceeded my expectations. And guess what else? They are simple, simple, simple to make. Love that!

Daphne Oz’s Key Lime Pie Pops from ABC’s The Chew

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup Crushed Graham Crackers (divided into halves)
  • Juice of 3 Key Limes
  • Zest of 3 Key Limes
  • 3 cups plain Greek Yogurt (I used Fage 2%)
  • 1 tablespoon Vanilla Extract
  • 3 tablespoon Honey (I ended up using a bit more-about 1/4 cup)

Directions:

First, combine the honey, yogurt, the zest of 2 limes, lime juice, vanilla extract and 1/2 cup of graham crackers in the bowl of an electric mixer. Beat at medium-high speed until smooth and creamy (I used a hand mixer and the texture of the yogurt changed a lot-much fluffier afterwards, so I wouldn’t try to mix this by hand).

Next, mix the zest of 1 lime and 1/2 cup graham crackers. I also added a squeeze of lime juice to bind the crumbs a bit. Divide the “crust” evenly between eight small paper cups, lining the bottom of each.

Lastly, pour equal amounts of the yogurt blend into each cup until they are almost full. Insert a Popsicle stick into each cup and place in the freezer to set (at least two hours).

Finished pops chillin’ in the freezer

My Key Lime pops turned out wonderfully tart with a touch of sweetness. You could add sugar or more honey if you want a sweeter dessert, but the sour was a yummy contrast to the creamy, sharp yogurt. The flavor is bold, but the ingredients really compliment each other nicely. And the graham crackers balance the dessert perfectly in my opinion. I love that they take so long to eat too so you can savor every lasting taste! At 3 points on  Weight Watchers, this is a treat I can enjoy practically anytime. Dessert win!

Ready for consumption

Will these pops satisfy a strong craving for Key Lime Pie? No, probably not. But I’m sure even Daphne would agree indulgence is necessary from time to time. However, in between those decadent dips, these yogurt based frozen cups satisfy any sweet tooth. I just love when a modified, healthier recipe turns out well and is worth making. Thank you Ms. Oz! Now go make them-and if anyone is feeling especially daring, give these bad boys a chocolate coat and let me know how they turn out.

2 thoughts on “Key Lime Pie Pops

Leave a Reply

