Dear Soft Shell Crab…

…I miss you old friend. It’s been nearly a year since I last enjoyed your company. Absence really has made my heart grow fonder of you. That, and the season. Now get in my mouth. Please.

As you may have guessed, I love soft shell crab. Fried. Between two slices of bread. Though I rarely think of it throughout the year, around mid-spring my mouth waters at the mention, sight, or thought of my clawed sea friends. Maybe because that’s when my favorite restaurant back home serves their seasonal special starring the soft shell crab. And it’s always beyond delicious (as everything there is).

This year I have not craved crab though. I *gasp* kinda forgot about it. Until this week. I went to pick up some shrimp at our local seafood store Thursday and they had quite a selection of crabby crustaceans. A large group of them just waiting to become someone’s dinner, looking somewhat like this:

Sort of sad in a way, probably since you purchase them still alive, but so yummy I hate to say.

Now, I can’t stop thinking about soft shell crabs. Really I’m just envisioning the perfect fried crab sandwich with a spicy garlic aioli and a crunchy vinegar-based slaw.

Crab Club from Unbreaded

Since I won’t be able to indulge in my Friendly’s favorite, I guess I’ll have to settle for making it at home. Meaning I’ll beg, if not force, my darling husband to create my spring dream dish, which will be worthy I’m sure. And if it’s not, well luckily I’m taking a trip south next month and Mr. Friendly’s is always a must when I’m home anyway. I just hope they will save a crawly crab for me.

One thought on “Dear Soft Shell Crab…

Leave a Reply

